11.1 Entries for the Warren Clinic 2008 income statement are listed below in alphabetical
order. Reorder the data in the proper format.
Bad debt expense $ 40,000
Depreciation expense 90,000
General/administrative expenses 70,000
Interest expense 20,000
Interest income 40,000
Net income 30,000
Other revenue 10,000
Patient service revenue 440,000
Purchased clinic services 90,000
Salaries and benefits 150,000
Total revenues 490,000
Total expenses 460,000
11.2 Consider the following income statement:
Statement of Operations
Year Ended June 30, 2008
Premiums earned $26,682
Interest and other income 242
Total revenues $28,613
Salaries and benefits $ 15,154
Medical supplies and drugs 7,507
Provision for bad debts 19
Total expenses $27,395
Net income $ 1,218
a. How does this income statement differ from the one presented in Table 11.1?
b. Did BestCare spend $367,000 on new fixed assets during fiscal year 2008? If not, what is the economic
rationale behind its reported depreciation expense?
c. Explain the provision for bad debts entry.
d. What is BestCare’s total margin? How can it be interpreted?
11.3 Consider this income statement:
Green Valley Nursing Home, Inc.
Statement of Income
Year Ended December 31, 2008
Resident services revenue $3,163,258
Other revenue 106,146
Total revenues $3,269,404
Salaries and benefits $1,515,438
Medical supplies and drugs 966,781
Insurance and other 296,357
Provision for bad debts 110,000
Total expenses $3,180,356
Operating income $ 89,048
Provision for income taxes 31,167
Net income $ 57,881
a. How does this income statement differ from the ones presented in Table 11.1 and Problem 11.2?
b. Why does Green Valley show a provision for income taxes while the other two income statements did not?
c. What is Green Valley’s total (profit) margin? How does this value compare with the values for Park Ridge
Homecare Clinic and BestCare?
d. The before-tax profit margin for Green Valley is operating income divided by total revenues. Calculate Green
Valley’s before-tax profit margin. Why may this be a better measure of expense control when comparing an
investor-owned business with a not-for-profit business?
12.1 Middleton Clinic had total assets of $500,000 and an equity balance of $350,000 at the end of 2007. One year later, at the end of 2008, the clinic had $575,000 in assets and $380,000 in equity. What was the clinic’s dollar growth in assets during 2008, and how was this growth financed?
12.2 San Mateo Healthcare had an equity balance of $1.38 million at the beginning of the year. At the end of the year, its equity balance was $1.98 million. Assume that San Mateo is a not-for-profit organization. What was its net income for the period?
12.3 Here is financial statement information on four not-for-profit clinics:
Pittman Rose Beckman Jaffe
December 31, 2007:
Assets $ 80,000 $ 100,000 g $ 150,000
Liabilities 50,000 d $ 75,000 j
Equity a 60,000 45,000 90,000
December 31, 2008:
Assets b 130,000 180,000 k
Liabilities 55,000 62,000 h 80,000
Equity 45,000 e 110,000 145,000
Total revenues c 400,000 i 500,000
Total expenses 330,000 f 360,000 l
Fill in the missing values labeled a through l.
5.1 Assume that the managers of FortWinston Hospital are setting the price on a new outpatient service. Here are the relevant data estimates:
Variable cost per visit – $5.00
Annual direct fixed costs – $500,000
Annual overhead allocation – $50,000
Expected annual utilization – 10,000 visits
a. What per visit price must be set for the service to break even? To earn an annual profit of $100,000?
b. Repeat Part a, but assume that the variable cost per visit is $10.
c. Return to the data given in the problem. Again repeat Part a, but assume that direct fixed costs are
d. Repeat Part a assuming both a $10 variable cost and $1,000,000 in direct fixed costs.
6.1 Consider the following 2008 data for Newark General Hospital (in millions of dollars):
Simple Budget Flexible Budget Actual Results
Revenues $4.7 $4.8 $4.5
Costs 4.1 4.1 4.2
Profit 0.6 0.7 0.3
a. Calculate and interpret the two profit variances.
b. Calculate and interpret the two revenue variances.
c. Calculate and interpret the two cost variances.
d. How are the variances related?
9.1 Find the following values for a single cash flow:
a. The future value of $500 invested at 8 percent for one year
b. The future value of $500 invested at 8 percent for five years
c. The present value of $500 to be received in one year when the opportunity cost rate is 8 percent
d. The present value of $500 to be received in five years when the opportunity cost rate is 8 percent
10.1 Great Lakes Clinic has been asked to provide exclusive healthcare services for next year’s World Exposition. Although flattered by the request, the clinic’s managers want to conduct a financial analysis of the project. An up-front cost of $160,000 is needed to get the clinic in operation. Then, a net cash inflow of $1 million
is expected from operations in each of the two years of the exposition. However, the clinic has to pay the organizers of the exposition a fee for the marketing value of the opportunity. This fee, which must be paid at the end of the second year, is $2 million.
a. What are the net cash flows associated with the project?
b. What is the project’s IRR?
c. Assuming a project cost of capital of 10 percent, what is the project’s NPV?